2018 Field Trip Schedule

Send any comments/corrections to Mike Christison at mikepaddler@aol.com.

Subject to change; specific trip information will be posted under Upcoming Field Trips prior to the date of trip.

Day Date Month Time Site Focus Leaders County
Sat 6 Jan 10:00 Kennesaw Mountain Winter Woods, Trees, and Rocks. Scott Ranger Cobb
Sat 20 Jan 10:00 Big Trees Preserve, Roswell WinterTrees Ellen Honeycutt Fulton
Sat 3 Feb 10:00 Pine Mountain Trail, Cartersville Winter Woods, Trees, and Rocks.  Scott Ranger Bartow
Sun 11 Feb 10:00 Oconee National Forest Morels Elliott Horner Various
Sat 17 Feb 10:00 Tallahassee, FL & Wolf Cr, GA Trillium and Trout Lilies Dan & Becky Miller Grady
Sun 25 Feb 10:00 Stone Mountain Trout Lilies & Hepatica Jane Trentin DeKalb
Sat 3 Mar 10:00 Chattachoochee River Gorge East Palisades Winter Woods, Trees, and
Rocks.
Scott Ranger Cobb
Sat 3 Mar 10:00 Joiner Property Jenkins County Martha Joiner Jenkins
Sat 10 Mar 10:00 Broad River Early Spring Wildflowers Priscilla Padron/Patty Lowe Clarke
Sun 18 Mar 10:00 Kettle Creek History, Trout Lilies & Hepatica Linda Chafin Wilkes
Sat 24 Mar 10:00 Montezuma Bluffs Trillium maculatum and Trillium reliquum Chris Inhulsen Macon
Sun 25 Mar 10:00 CRNRA: Akers Mill to Paces Mill Spring Forest Jerry Hightower Cobb
Sun 25 Mar 10:00 Pocket of Pigeon Mountain Early Spring Wildflowers Mike Christison Walker
Sat 31 Mar 10:00 Heggie’s Rock Rock Outcrop Wildflowers Malcom Hodges Columbia
Sun 1 Apr 10:00 Arabia Mountain Solution Pool Gardens Jerry Hightower DeKalb
Sat 7 Apr 10:00 Cloudland Canyon Trillium sulcatum, Delphinium tricorne,
Phacelia, etc
Richard Reaves Dade
Sun 8 Apr 10:00 CRNRA, E. Palisades Spring Wildflowers Jerry Hightower Cobb
Sat 14 Apr 10:00 Elachee Nature Science Center Spring Wildflowers Leslie Edwards/Tom Govus Hall
Sat 14 Apr 10:00 Dixie Bog Dew Threads and Pitcher Plants Tom Patrick Brooks
Sun 15 Apr 10:00 Turner County sites More Pitcher Plant Bogs Karan Rawlins/Tom Patrick Brooks
Sat 21 Apr 10:00 Cashes Valley Bleeding Hearts Tom Patrick Gilmer/Fannin
Sun 22 Apr 10:00 FDR State Park Spring flora Hal Massie Harris
Sat 28 Apr 10:00 Ramp Cove Spring Cove Wildflowers & Old Growth
Buckeyes
Jess Riddle Towns
Sat 28 Apr 10:00 Ogeechee Canal Spring Flora Bobby Hattaway Chatham
Sun 29 Apr 10:00 Wormsloe State Historic Site Botanical Treasures Bobby Hattaway Chatham
Sun 29 Apr 10:00 Cohuttas Exploratory Hike Botanical Surprises Tom Govus Gilmer
Fri-Sun 4~6 May 10:00 Thomaston area GA Botsoc Pilgrimage Mitchell Kent/Hal Massie Upson
Sun 6 May 10:00 Flint River Canoe Trip Coastal Plains – Piedmont interface, near
Thomaston
Jerry Hightower Upson
Sat 12 May 10:00 Gordonia Alatamaha State Park Sarracenia rubra, Cleistesiopsis divaricata Martha Joiner Tatnall
Sat 19 May 10:00 Dawson Forest Turkeybeard,
Xerophyllum asphodeloides
Jim Drake Dawson
Sat-Mon 26-28 May 10:00 3 Memorial Day Weekend Trips TBD Hall Massie/Richard Reaves TBD
Sat 2 Jun 10:00 Palisades Canoe Trip Plants, Geology, Wildlife Jerry Hightower Cobb
Sat 9 Jun 10:00 Tate City Area Wood Betony, Mountain Laurel, Hydrangea  Eddi Minche Towns
Sun 17 Jun 10:00 Chestatee Canoe Trip Riverbank trees and wildflowers Jerry Hightower Lumpkin/White
Sat 14 Jul 10:00 Oaky Woods Prairie Coneflower Tom Patrick Houston
Sun 15 Jul 10:00 Montgomery Creek Platanthera clavellata Elliott Horner Lumpkin/White
Sat 4 Aug 10:00 Sassafras Mountain Figwort, Broadleaf Tickseed Jess Riddle Lumpkin/Union
Sat 8 Sep 10:00 Sweetwater Creek Natural communities Leslie Edwards Stephens
Sun 9 Sep 10:00 Lake Winfield Scott. Fungal Foray! Bill Sheehan Union
Sat 15 Sep 10:00 Cowrock Mountain Lobelias, asters, sunflowrs Jess Riddle Lumpkin/White
Sat 22 Sep 10:00 Roadside Botany near Toccoa Helianthus smithii Linda Chafin Stephens
Sat 29 Sep 10:00 Middle Georgia Fall Line Sandhills Hal Massie
Sat 6 Oct 10:00 CRNRA: Akers Mill to Paces Mill Georgia Aster Maureen Donohue Cobb
Sat 6 Oct 10:00 Broxton Rocks, Broxton Bigelowia nuttalli, six species of Liatris Frankie Snow Coffee
Sat 13 Oct 10:00 George L. Smith SP Canoe Trip, may see Ogeechee Lime Trees in
fruit
Martha Joiner Emanuel
Sun 14 Oct 10:00 Charles Harrold  Preserve Work Day at Chas Harrold Preserve Martha Joiner Candler
Sat 10 Nov 10:00 Canoochee Bog Work Day Lisa Kruse South GA
Sun 11 Nov 10:00 FDR State Park Fall Color and Hike Hal Massie Harris
Sun 18 Nov 10:00 Arabia Mountain Fall Color and Hike Jane Trentin DeKalb
Fri 23 Nov 10:00 Providence Canyon Fall Color and Hike Chris Inhulsen Stewart
Sun 25 Nov 10:00 Camp Thunder, near Thomaston Fall Color and Hike Hal Massie Upson
Sat 1 Dec 10:00 Holiday Party TBD TBD TBD