2015 Field Trip Schedule

If not otherwise mentioned, all trips begin at 10 a.m.

 

Day Date Month Time Site Focus Leaders County
Sat 17 Jan 10:00am Big Trees Forest Preserve in Sandy Springs Winter walk through a deciduous forest. Ellen Honeycutt Fulton
Sat 24 Jan 10:00am FDR State Park, Pine Mountain Winter Walk on Pine Mountain Hal Massie Harris
Sat 31 Jan 11:00am Jim and Candee Drake’s house Rich Reaves & Susan Caster Presentations on Out-of-state Trips & Pot Luck Luncheon Maureen Donohue Gwinnett
Sat 7 Feb 10:00am Arabia Mountain Nature Preserve Basic lichen ID & biology/ecology of lichens of granite exposures – Limit 12 participants Malcom Hodges & Sean Beeching DeKalb
Sat 7 Feb 1:15 pm Wolf Creek Preserve Trout Lilies, Trilliums, and Orchids Beth Grant Grady
Sat 14 Feb 10:00am Gaskins Forest Education Center (advan. reg. req.) Plant ID Workshop (using Botany in a Day book) Bobby Hattaway Berrien
Sat 7 Mar 10:00am Paces Mill, CRNRA Early Spring Wildflowers – esp. trout-lilies Maureen Donohue Cobb
Sun 15 Mar 2:00pm Montezuma Bluffs Natural Area Spring wildflowers: cutleaf toothwort, trilliums Chris Inhulsen Macon
Sat 21 Mar 10:00am Cloudland Canyon – mouth Very early wildflower Rich Reaves Dade
Sun 22 Mar 10:00am Sosebee Cove PRE-REGISTRATION REQUIRED Lesser Celandine-Eradication project Rich Reaves Union
Sat 28 Mar 10:00am The Pocket of Pigeon Mountain Spring wildflowers Mike Christison Walker
Sat 28 Mar 10:00am Tall Timbers (Coastal Plain Extravaganza) Fire Ecology – & the effects on plant & bird life Wilson Baker Leon (FL)
Sat 28 Mar early PM Tall Timbers (Coastal Plain Extravaganza) Fire Ecology – and the effects on plant & bird life (evening presentation) Jim Cox (program) Leon (FL)
Sun 29 Mar 10:00am Greenwood Plantation (Coastal Plain Extravaganza) Fire Ecology Weekend Ellen Corrie Thomas
Sun 29 Mar 10:00am Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area Akers Mill to Paces Mill � Harbinger of Spring Discovery Hike Jerry Hightower Cobb
Sat 4 Apr 10:00am Power’s Island, CNRA & Cochran Shoals Unit 100’s of Nodding trilliums & other wildflowers Maureen Donohue Fulton, Cobb
Sun 5 Apr 10:00am Arabia Mountain National Natural Heritage Site Mountain Loop, Lake Loop, and Salamander Pools Jerry Hightower DeKalb
Sat 11 Apr 10:00am Cloudland Canyon – walkthrough Later spring wildflowers Rich Reaves Dade
Sun 12 Apr 10:00am Lillian E. Smith Center First botanical exploration of LES center property, low mountain slope, coves and ridges. Tim Menzel Rabun
Sat 11 Apr 10:00am Broxton Rocks Preserve Flora of Altamaha Grit Frankie Snow Coffee
Sat 18 Apr 10:00am Ebenezer Creek (canoe/kayak – adv. reg. required) Natural Communities of Georgia – Featured Place – Cypress-Tupelo River Swamp Bobby Hattaway Effingham
Sat 18 Apr 10:00am Oconee National Forest Piedmont wildflowers Debbie Cosgrove Greene
Sat 25 Apr 10:00am Stroud Creek Rich, north-facing mountain cove Ben Cash Towns
Sun 26 Apr 10:00am Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area, East Palisades Indian Ridge to Cabin Creek Loop Trail – Spring Flora, Ferns & Fun Jerry Hightower Cobb
Sat 2 May 10:00am Duncan Ridge Early Blue Ridge Flowers Tom Govus Lumpkin
Fri – Sun 8 – 10 May SPRING WILDFLOWER PILGRIMAGE Georgia mountain wildflowers See Pilgrimage Schedule Lumpkin
Sat 16 May 10:00am Lexington Lake Rivercane propagation/restoration & conservation ecology Thomas Peters Clarke
Sat 17 May 10:00am Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area Palisades Canoe Float Spring Flora Jerry Hightower Cobb
Sat 17 May 10:00am Bond Swamp National Wildlife Refuge PRE-REGISTRATION REQUIRED Canoe trip – wildflowers & interesting fauna Ed McDowell Bibb/ Twiggs
Sat 23 May 9:30am Roadside Botanizing in Cohuttas Trilliums, whorled milkweed, fire pink, wild geranium, lily-of-the-valley, wood betony Rich Reaves & Hal Massie Fannin, Gilmer
Sun 24 May 10:00am Blackrock Mountain State Park Plants of the Tennessee Rock Trail Rich Reaves & Hal Massie Rabun
Mon 25 May 10:00am Cooper Creek Big Trees Big Trees Rich Reaves & Hal Massie Fannin
Sat 30 May 10:00am TBD Fern Workshop Teri Nye TBD
Sat 6 Jun 10:00am CDT, (11:00 EDT) May Prairie & AEDC (Arnold Engineering Development Center) Platanthera lacera, Calopogon tuberosus, Cleistes bifaria, Asclepias hirtella, Silphium mohrii, Lysimachia terrestris, Pedicularis lanceolata & many others including two insectivorous plants Dennis Horn Coffee, TN
Sat 6 Jun 10:00am Plant ID Workshop Family Recognition and Learning How to Key Bobby Hattaway Jones
Sat 13 Jun 10:00am Lula Falls / Cloudland Canyon SP Spiraea virginiana, Stewartia ovata, Lilium philadelphicum Richard Ware and Rich Reaves Dade, Walker
Sun 14 Jun 10:00am Chestatee River Canoe Float & Spring Flora Jerry Hightower Lumpkin
Sat 20 Jun 10:00am TRIP CANCELLED: Whitley Gap & Dukes Creek Montane oak & high-elevation rock outcrop natural communities Leslie Edwards White
Sun 21 Jun 10:00am Sue Mager’s Banks County Early summer wildflowers Sue Mager Banks
Sat 27 Jun 11:30am Brasstown Bald Geology and Natural Communities One-hour talk on geology and its influence on natural communities on Brasstown Bald, followed by a brief walk. More info at: http://georgiarocks.us/events/index.htm. Bill Witherspoon and Leslie Edwards Towns/Union
Sun 28 Jun 1pm Anna Ruby Falls Geology and Natural Communities One-hour talk on geology and its influence on natural communities at Anna Ruby Falls, followed by a brief walk. More info at: http://georgiarocks.us/events/index.htm. Bill Witherspoon and Leslie Edwards White
Fri 10 Jul CANCELED: Valdosta State University Herbarium Richard Carter Lowndes
Sat – Sun 11-12 July 10:00am on Sat, 7:00 am on Sun. Roadside Botanizing-Waycross/Okefenokee Area (also see 10 July – Herbarium tour on Fri afternoon) Roadside late summer Coastal Plain flora Rich Reaves Ware, Charlton
Sat 25 Jul 10:00am Lake Winfield Scott Annual Meeting & Linda’s Walk Linda Chafin & Maureen Union
Sat 1 Aug 9:00am Hard Labor Creek State Park Woodland spider lily Kathy Stege and the Nourse’s Morgan
Sat 15 Aug 10:00am Pickett’s Mill State Historic Site Three Birds Orchid (hope to see in bloom) Rich Reaves Paulding
Sat 22 Aug 10:00am Freeman Trail and Blood Mountain Two rare species in flower, Silene ovata& Scrophularia marilandica) and other late summer wildflowers Linda Chafin Union
Sat 12 Sep 10:00am Hinds Road Outcrop / Little River Canyon NP, AL Bigelowia nuttallii, Coreopsis pulchra, Helianthus longifolius, Liatris microcephala, Talinum mengesii Richard Ware & Mike Christison Etowah, DeKalb, AL
Sat 19 Sep 10:00am Buck Creek Serpentine Barren in Clay County, NC Gentianopsis crinata, Parnassia grandifolia& Rhiannon�s aster�and other jewels. Gary Kauffman, For. Svc. Bot. Clay, NC
Sat 19 Sep 10:00am Moody Forest Natural Area Sandhill Community Bobby Hattaway Appling
Sat 26 Sep 10:00am Site to be determined National Public Lands Day Maureen TBD
Sat 3 Oct 10:00am Chattahoochee Bend State Park Helianthus porteri & others including lichens Sean Beeching  & Tom Patrick Coweta
Sat 3 Oct 10:00am Ohoopee Dunes Natural Area Fall Flowers Mincy Moffett Emanuel
Wed 11 Nov 10:00am Spark’s Creek, FDR St. Pk., Pine Mtn. (Vet’s Day) Grass-of-Parnassus Site Hal Massie Harris
Sat 14 Nov 11:00am Oxbow Meadows and Providence Canyon Geology and Natural Communities Leslie Edwards & Bill Witherspoon Stewart
Sat 5 Dec 11:00am Holiday party TBD